

SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE

REPORT NO. 54 – 23 NOVEMBER 2021

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

The Hon Shayne Mallard MLC, *Chair* The Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC, *Deputy Chair* The Hon Mark Banasiak MLC Ms Abigail Boyd MLC The Hon Anthony D'Adam MLC Mr Justin Field MLC The Hon Trevor Khan MLC The Hon Mark Latham MLC The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC Revd The Hon Fred Nile MLC The Hon Mark Pearson MLC

Secretariat to the committee:

Ms Beverly Duffy, Clerk Assistant—Procedure (02 9230 3367)

Mr Alex Stedman, A/Director—Procedure (02 9230 2798)

The Selection of Bills Committee met on Tuesday 23 November to consider whether the following bills be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report:

- Electoral Amendment (COVID-19) Bill 2021
- Teacher Accreditation Amendment Bill 2021
- Abortion Law Reform (Sex Selection Prohibition) Amendment Bill 2021
- Government Grants Administration Bill 2021
- Road Transport Amendment (Medicinal Cannabis-Exemptions from Offences) Bill 2021
- Licensing and Registration (Uniform Procedures) Amendment Bill 2021
- National Parks and Wildlife Amendment Bill 2021
- Stronger Communities Legislation Amendment (Children) Bill 2021
- Workers Compensation Amendment Bill 2021
- Climate Change (Emissions Targets) Bill 2021 (Dib)
- Climate Change (Emissions Targets) Bill 2021 (Sharpe)
- Great Koala Protected Area Bill 2021
- Fiscal Responsibility Amendment (Privatisation Restrictions) Bill 2021

The committee makes the following recommendations:

- (1) That:
 - (a) the Road Transport Amendment (Medicinal Cannabis-Exemptions from Offences) Bill 2021 be referred to the Standing Committee on Law and Justice for inquiry and report,
 - (b) the bill be referred to the committee at the conclusion of the mover's second reading speech,
 - (c) the resumption of the second reading debate on the bill not proceed until the tabling of the committee report,
 - (d) the committee report by 23 June 2022.
- (2) That the following bills not be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report, this day.
 - (a) Electoral Amendment (COVID-19) Bill 2021,
 - (b) Teacher Accreditation Amendment Bill 2021,
 - (c) Abortion Law Reform (Sex Selection Prohibition) Amendment Bill 2021,
 - (d) Government Grants Administration Bill 2021
 - (e) Licensing and Registration (Uniform Procedures) Amendment Bill 2021,
 - (f) National Parks and Wildlife Amendment Bill 2021,
 - (g) Stronger Communities Legislation Amendment (Children) Bill 2021,

- (h) Workers Compensation Amendment Bill 2021,
- (i) Climate Change (Emissions Targets) Bill 2021 (Dib),
- (j) Climate Change (Emissions Targets) Bill 2021 (Sharpe),
- (k) Great Koala Protected Area Bill 2021, and
- (l) Fiscal Responsibility Amendment (Privatisation Restrictions) Bill 2021.

Shayne Mallard MLC **Chair** 23 November 2021